Show reviews that mention
home house people homes builder khov construction customer problems money
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Gourmet Kitchen is NOT offered for 1st phase Meadow View II - Mountain House, California homes

1.0
Details
Hi KHovnanian Team, As a last resort I am writing this email on the assumption that KHovnanian as a Builder would give their best to satisfy their customers needs as opposed to just closing on the home as per their target timelines to achieve the end targets they are trying to achieve as a company. I am hoping that this company "KHovnanian" is built on the trust of maintaining Satisfying customers as opposed to meet their targets. I am a property owner at Meadowview II - Homesite 43 (Frame Stage Complete) - at Mountain House, California. I signed my contract in May 2020 (during middle of Covid-19 at its peak) and one of 1st 15 buyers who are expected to close their homes possibly in Oct 2020. I have requested for Gourmet Kitchen option since May 2020 and I was always kept on the hope that the management is trying to get it materialized and was just informed only yesterday 09/02/2020, that this option would NOT be provided to the 1st 15 buyers and is actually going to be available only for the next set of buyers who have only starting signing for the homes after the market has really picked up and after May 2020. Considering I am one of those potential buyers who have trusted KHovnanian would do whatever it takes to keep their customers happy, I was expecting Gourmet Kitchen (I have even agreed to take it with the price tag of $7600 which has been offered to the next set of buyers) to be made available for me even if it needs my home closing date delayed by a month or two, however it was surprising to hear back that NOT providing this option to one of the 1st buyers who had requested this option in the 1st place, it seems KHovnanian builders are communicating to me that you would only get what is shown in the model house and they cannot address the same as they have to meet their target for closing the homes by Oct 2020. I agree there are lots of clauses supporting the builder, but I am not writing this email to look into the legal obligations from both ends, however I am hoping KHovnanian considers their customers are the ones who have built this company in so many of these years with TRUST and NOT the targets they have met in these years. Considering a buyer is ready to pay for the option he requested from Day 1 of his contract and the option is available for possible buyers who are closing after Oct 2020, I am just unable to envision my home without this option being provided. Why can't KHovnanian consider the concerns of the customer like me and delay the closing if need be and address the Gourmet Kitchen option for my property? All it takes is consider your customer as a CUSTOMER as opposed to considering him as your target closing number to be reached. Imagine a happy customer can go a long way in terms of providing the feedback and supporting KHovnanian as a Builder. Note: I have already recommended one of my friend to this builder and he has already signed on the Homesite #51 in the same phase and Imagine being me unhappy, I probably would never even utter the builders name for my next set of recommendations in future. I sincerely hope KHovnanian can go beyond their targets and try to address a customer as a CUSTOMER and support in getting my concern resolved. Awaiting a positive reply with loads of HOPE!!!
View full review
ID
#2151321 Review #2151321 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Terrible customer service

1.1
Details
Moved into home at Affinity Verrado Buckeye Az on August 28th 2020. Electrical outlets in Master bedroom are not working. Missing cover for electrical unit under kitchen sink. Missing screens for windows. Chip in lid of toilet. All these issues have been promised to be fixed but as of today not one fixed. They get your money then ignore you! Have nothing about the HOA. No card to enter the Heritage Pool.

User's recommendation: Don’t buy from this builder!

View full review
1 comment
Jermane
#1949496

Not A fan myself and in the middle of a new buildout in Summerville South Carolina. Did you have a walk through prior to closing?

Did you hire a PE or Home Inspection company during the build? I have had 2 issues crop up prior to sheet rock going up..

I'm sorry you are having this experience and pray daily for myself..... I am hiring a PE to manage the build since I do not live near..

ID
#2178393 Review #2178393 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Terrible customer service

1.2
Details
Called several times to have issues corrected but have been totally ignored. Electrical outlets in Master bedroom are not working! Cover missing from electrical unit under kitchen sink. Chip in lid of toilet. Missing screens on windows. Was promised all would be fixed. Its been a month now and no response from Khovanian! Very disappointed!

User's recommendation: Don’t buy from this builder!

View full review
ID
#2178359 Review #2178359 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Warranty on roof

2.3
Details
After 7 years I was cancelled by an insurance company because they state my roof was missing "granules" between the shingles. The roof is supposed to be under warranty for 10 years. Khovnanian, through a neighbor, says unless you have the roof inspected every year, Khovnanian will not honor the warranty. No one in neighborhood has heard of this before. Unacceptable! - Khovnanian should send a reminder to homeowners about this "fine print" gotcha clause.

User's recommendation: BEWARWE ! Warn everyone about this fine print.

View full review
ID
#2170935 Review #2170935 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund

Leak from construction

2.6
Details
It had been repaired and the whole front door frame was taken apart and it is soaked and rotting

User's recommendation: Follow up on continued damage.

View full review
ID
#2144791 Review #2144791 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Update by user Jun 23

I want to say thank you for your companies help in getting us the Litigation settlement ( some) of the money that was long over due to us. The question I have is how did they come to the amount that they quoted us, from the amount that we actually received? There is a...

View full review
ID
#1996754 Review #1996754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Your trust is our top priority

  • 100% user-generated content
  • Professional automated and live moderation
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Equal Opportunity and Protection
  • Verified content

For more information about PissedConsumer check out our Blog article

Stay far, far away.

Very rude, condescending Sales Mgr.
View full review
ID
#1809459 Review #1809459 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Colorado Springs, Colorado

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Salesman was great while trying to sell the home. When deposit of 9,500/00 dollars was given for build, Sales person said he woild send e documents to our email and to sign them as soon as possible, because the lot picked could not be held if we did not do it fast....
View full review
ID
#1797244 Review #1797244 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Non
Cons
  • Dont care about the buyer
  • Ddont care about yopu personnaly
Loss
$9500
Preferred solution
Full refund

Great home builder. I highly recommend!

1.0
Details
I bought my new K Hovnanian home about 7 months ago. It's the best decision my wife and I have ever made. From the sales professionals to the finance to the closing they made the process as painless as possible. I work in construction and after living in our home for several months I'm very impressed with the quality of our home and can't believe the price we was able to get it for. There was 15year old homes in our area that was selling for the same price K Hovnanian sold me my home for. The home was built alittle over a year ago and there is no settling cracks anywhere. The heating and air works perfect and the plumbing and electrical is great. I have nothing bad to say about this experience. Its been incredible!
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1848111

Hilarious that this is a word for word copied review from another review website from someone with a different name. I sense a bot or paid reviewer.

Anonymous
#1835817

If so wonderful why only a one star review?

View more comments (1)
ID
#1707908 Review #1707908 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Northeast Harris, Texas
Pros
  • Great home builder
Cons
  • Cant think of a con
Reason of review
Good quality

Major water damage from roof leak - 6 months to fix

1.1
Details
Overall they did an ok job. Had TONS of issues they had to come back and fix in year one. The major one was holes drilled through the roof that leaked water so bad it rained inside the house for 6 months. I ended up having to find the leak myself on a ladder in the rain at midnight before they actually tried to fix it. To their credit they did fix it eventually. But the water damaged carpet and blinds were not fixed. I was told they do not reimburse for secondary damages. So I'm out 500 bucks on custom blinds because of their poor workmanship. Really looks bad when you consider it is a 500k home. 500 bucks to fix the blinds would have made this a positive review. Just hard to believe they admit it was workmanship and I had to do all the investigating to get it fixed and now I have brown stained and water damaged blinds to remind me of it everyday. Awesome.
View full review
ID
#1701255 Review #1701255 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Geneva, Illinois

Compare Companies

Khovnanian Homes
Khovnanian Homes
45 reviews
1.7
VS
Ryan Homes
Ryan Homes
324 reviews
1.7
Compare Khovnanian Homes vs Ryan Homes

Latest Question

Water flooding bed room when opening the backyard water pipe

Today when opened the backyard water pipe , i see water coming through bricks. Water also leaked inside the home and it damaged the wooden floor. Needs to root cause this ASAP before it damages the entire floor. Please call me...

Khovnanian Homes Questions

I’d look for another builder

1.8
Details
Well where to start. My 1st (CSM) construction site manager was a good guy he was on my side and did a lot of fighting for me so they fired him. My 2nd@***d CSM were a *** all company and screw me. All contractors were subs and are paid by sq footage to do their part so they did minimal cut corners and as fast as possible to get out. They were all out of state workers so they wanted back home ASAP. this was a problem. My house is now nine years old and nothing but problems. 1. Sunken cracked basement floor. 2 mold from a broken water line in the 1st 24hr after signing papers that flooded house. Water ran for 14 hours till we came back next day. 3 windows and doors leak need replaced. 4 many cracks in walls never glued dry wall to studs. 5 int doors do not close. 6 siding falling off. 7 garage floor sloped in not out to driveway problem when cars melt snow. These are my major problems. Many other problems I have fixed. This is a cheap spec home builder not a costume builder like they portray. I fell Ryan would have been a better choice. So disappointed.
View full review
ID
#1688752 Review #1688752 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Good price for sq footage
Cons
  • Poor quality
Reason of review
Warranty issue

I dont know how they can sleep at night

1.0
Details
I was a trade partner with Khovnanian. and they tried to cut Corners at any place. the houses are so cheaply made that repairs will be needed within 6 months of purchase. seeing firsthand how these houses are made I strongly suggest looking elsewhere. these homes are not Investments but they are money pits that you will have to repair. as far as the employees that work with Khovnanian. I don't know how they sleep at night knowing that they're selling families homes knowing that they are poorly built.
View full review
ID
#1659778 Review #1659778 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hamilton, Ohio
Service
Khovnanian Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality

Great Builder

4.5
Details
I recently bought a Home thru KHovnanian Homes in Missouri city and the process was as smooth as it can be under the condition I was buying a home still under construction . From the Sales person Keith who made the process as easy as it can be . He informed us from the beginning of the process that things may or may not happen as we would like but rest assured it will be taken care of prior to moving in and it was. I understood the process of building an both sales and the construction team went above and beyond to make it my dream home without any hiccups or problems that wasn't resolved with my satisfaction in the forefront. Good Job !!
View full review
ID
#1587959 Review #1587959 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wichita, Kansas
Service
Khovnanian Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Good quality

Love my new home

5.0
Details
Starting with the salesman Gregory in the Kingdom Heights neighborhood in Rosenberg TX through the closing process with Jodie and malinda and finishing with the walk through with Eric, everything and everyone was incredible. I dont know where all these pissed off people bought their properties at but you almost talked me out of the best buying experience of my life. I have talked to several people in my new neighborhood and they are all very happy with Khovnanian Homes. Im so glad I decided to ignore the bad reviews and by my home in Kingwood Heights.
View full review
ID
#1529429 Review #1529429 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Worst Home Ever

I was first home buyer and I have had so many issues with this home. Now I have mold in the entire home and they will not come out to inspect. I have hired 4 engineers to prove leaks in the home and they still refuse to come out
View full review
ID
#1469220 Review #1469220 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$35
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
3.3
Details
The electrical system is ridiculous. Blowing fuses constantly. Kitchen, laundry room and tonight... my bedroom. How is it possible that you have a home constructed and this like the roof or the electrical system is only guaranteed for the first year? 30 years to pay a...
View full review
ID
#1354145 Review #1354145 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Waldorf, Maryland
Service
Khovnanian Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality