Most helpful review
Khovnanian Homes - Problem after Problem, since closing 4 months ago.
Khovnanian Homes - Problem after Problem, since closing 4 months ago.
Khovnanian Homes - Problem after Problem, since closing 4 months ago.
Khovnanian Homes - Problem after Problem, since closing 4 months ago.
Khovnanian Homes - Problem after Problem, since closing 4 months ago.
Khovnanian Homes - Problem after Problem, since closing 4 months ago.
Where do I begin? First it was the nightmare of trying to close my loan, after I moved across the country. It took 4 months to close, 4 different close dates and still needed to submit "proof" after I closed. Terrible experience. Since I have moved in, I have had...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3294746 Review #3294746 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
Khovanian Homes started off great. My family and I are building whats supposed to be our dream home. We were made several promises which have come up empty. We were told we could have the fence we selected and our front and back yard would be completely sodded, both of...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3325510 Review #3325510 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baytown, Texas
Loss
$4
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Baymont Farms is not the best of Khovnanian

We have issues with LVP cupping in house and it is like an Abbott & Costello Routine trying to get someone to take responsibility. As this development is all subcontracted, I would recommend avoiding this community. If you are up for the challenge, I would recommend you Video and Record as much as possible and maintain a relationship with a good attorney!

User's recommendation: Would avoid this community.

View full review
ID
#3229518 Review #3229518 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Middletown, Delaware
Pros
  • Sales exceptional
Cons
  • Fixing issues & communication is terrible
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

The outer wall of the back house is falling apart. call k hovnanian homes, and it tell me to send a email, Send a email with photos and video. Got a response and it tell me that outside wall of the ho

The outer wall of the back house is falling apart. call k hovnanian homes, and it tell me to send a email, Send a email with photos and video. Got a response and it tell me that Outside wall of the house doesn't cover the warranty.
View full review
ID
#2939953 Review #2939953 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Trash inside island

Khovnanian Homes - Trash inside island
Khovnanian Homes - Trash inside island
Khovnanian Homes - Trash inside island
Khovnanian Homes - Trash inside island
We moved in March 2021 and have had a problem with our newly built home since day one. First there was a large hole in one of the cabinets. I guess they thought we wouldnt notice because it was above the microwave. My island was used as a trash can and then the builder put the countertop on without removing the trash. I only found this out b/c the dishwasher leaked due to not being installed properly and water leaked all over my hardwood floors. Mold started growing inside of the island and the entire thing had to be demolished. Hence the countertop had to be removed and there the trash was revealed. It makes me wonder what is inside my walls. Let me remind you This was a new construction build.

User's recommendation: Do not use this builder. The do no build with respect.

View full review
ID
#2625901 Review #2625901 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Khovnanian Homes House Construction
Preferred solution
A credit on my mortgage payment for living in a home for 5 months that I cannot enjoy.

Contact

Hello, I am trying to obtain the warranty supervisor's name and contact for The Meadows in Peoria, AZ Thank you
View full review
ID
#2472276 Review #2472276 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona

One year tlu h up

I have a repair crew at my home making repairs for things that were not done correctly. I was told repairs to my sqeaking floors cannot be made due to the ceiling in the basement being finished. This is unacceptable . Am i supposed to not finish my home until after the one year repairs have been made. What if i had hovanian finish the basement when the house was built. How would the repairs be done then. I need this situation taken care of.

User's recommendation: Don't buy from them, they won't make the repairs on things you're supposed to make them aware if.

View full review
ID
#2434462 Review #2434462 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lorain, Ohio

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Khovnanian Homes - Construction issues and horrible customer service
Khovnanian Homes - Construction issues and horrible customer service
Update by user Mar 24, 2021

KHOV NEVER contacted me. I sent an extra letter via the email address which Pissed Consumers provided- the email bumped back, it appears KHOV blocking emails from consumers. I sent a personal letter to Ara Hovnanian, he signed as received, and there is NO response.

Original review posted by user Feb 22, 2021
I...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2431227 Review #2431227 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
To install sound insulation or pay for the sound insulation expenses when a private contractor is hired.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Purchased home from them in 2012

windows and doors not flashed properly, master bath not insulated or installed properly, has cost me many thousands in repairs, wish i would have known then what i know now, will never buy from them again
View full review
ID
#2370725 Review #2370725 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$7000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Terrible customer service

Moved into home at Affinity Verrado Buckeye Az on August 28th 2020. Electrical outlets in Master bedroom are not working. Missing cover for electrical unit under kitchen sink. Missing screens for windows. Chip in lid of toilet. All these issues have been promised to be fixed but as of today not one fixed. They get your money then ignore you! Have nothing about the HOA. No card to enter the Heritage Pool.

User's recommendation: Don’t buy from this builder!

View full review
1 comment
#1949496

Not A fan myself and in the middle of a new buildout in Summerville South Carolina. Did you have a walk through prior to closing?

Did you hire a PE or Home Inspection company during the build? I have had 2 issues crop up prior to sheet rock going up..

I'm sorry you are having this experience and pray daily for myself..... I am hiring a PE to manage the build since I do not live near..

ID
#2178393 Review #2178393 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Terrible customer service

Called several times to have issues corrected but have been totally ignored. Electrical outlets in Master bedroom are not working! Cover missing from electrical unit under kitchen sink. Chip in lid of toilet. Missing screens on windows. Was promised all would be fixed. Its been a month now and no response from Khovanian! Very disappointed!

User's recommendation: Don’t buy from this builder!

View full review
ID
#2178359 Review #2178359 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Warranty on roof

After 7 years I was cancelled by an insurance company because they state my roof was missing "granules" between the shingles. The roof is supposed to be under warranty for 10 years. Khovnanian, through a neighbor, says unless you have the roof inspected every year, Khovnanian will not honor the warranty. No one in neighborhood has heard of this before. Unacceptable! - Khovnanian should send a reminder to homeowners about this "fine print" gotcha clause.

User's recommendation: BEWARWE ! Warn everyone about this fine print.

View full review
ID
#2170935 Review #2170935 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Gourmet Kitchen is NOT offered for 1st phase Meadow View II - Mountain House, California homes

Hi KHovnanian Team, As a last resort I am writing this email on the assumption that KHovnanian as a Builder would give their best to satisfy their customers needs as opposed to just closing on the home as per their target timelines to achieve the end targets they are trying to achieve as a company. I am hoping that this company "KHovnanian" is built on the trust of maintaining Satisfying customers as opposed to meet their targets. I am a property owner at Meadowview II - Homesite 43 (Frame Stage Complete) - at Mountain House, California. I signed my contract in May 2020 (during middle of Covid-19 at its peak) and one of 1st 15 buyers who are expected to close their homes possibly in Oct 2020. I have requested for Gourmet Kitchen option since May 2020 and I was always kept on the hope that the management is trying to get it materialized and was just informed only yesterday 09/02/2020, that this option would NOT be provided to the 1st 15 buyers and is actually going to be available only for the next set of buyers who have only starting signing for the homes after the market has really picked up and after May 2020. Considering I am one of those potential buyers who have trusted KHovnanian would do whatever it takes to keep their customers happy, I was expecting Gourmet Kitchen (I have even agreed to take it with the price tag of $7600 which has been offered to the next set of buyers) to be made available for me even if it needs my home closing date delayed by a month or two, however it was surprising to hear back that NOT providing this option to one of the 1st buyers who had requested this option in the 1st place, it seems KHovnanian builders are communicating to me that you would only get what is shown in the model house and they cannot address the same as they have to meet their target for closing the homes by Oct 2020. I agree there are lots of clauses supporting the builder, but I am not writing this email to look into the legal obligations from both ends, however I am hoping KHovnanian considers their customers are the ones who have built this company in so many of these years with TRUST and NOT the targets they have met in these years. Considering a buyer is ready to pay for the option he requested from Day 1 of his contract and the option is available for possible buyers who are closing after Oct 2020, I am just unable to envision my home without this option being provided. Why can't KHovnanian consider the concerns of the customer like me and delay the closing if need be and address the Gourmet Kitchen option for my property? All it takes is consider your customer as a CUSTOMER as opposed to considering him as your target closing number to be reached. Imagine a happy customer can go a long way in terms of providing the feedback and supporting KHovnanian as a Builder. Note: I have already recommended one of my friend to this builder and he has already signed on the Homesite #51 in the same phase and Imagine being me unhappy, I probably would never even utter the builders name for my next set of recommendations in future. I sincerely hope KHovnanian can go beyond their targets and try to address a customer as a CUSTOMER and support in getting my concern resolved. Awaiting a positive reply with loads of HOPE!!!
View full review
2 comments
#1986798

I'm considering buying a home from KH. Thanks for sharing.

#2144145
@PissedConsumer1986798

Don’t waste your time… move on to a better builder

View more comments (1)
ID
#2151321 Review #2151321 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Leak from construction

It had been repaired and the whole front door frame was taken apart and it is soaked and rotting

User's recommendation: Follow up on continued damage.

View full review
ID
#2144791 Review #2144791 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Milstein Jackson Fairchild & Wade Law suite

Update by user Jun 23, 2020

I want to say thank you for your companies help in getting us the Litigation settlement ( some) of the money that was long over due to us. The question I have is how did they come to the amount that they quoted us, from the amount that we actually received?

There is a gap of $1,980.65 from the original amount of $3,780.00. And we did not received a break down of why or how they came to the the total that we received.

Just thinking that's a large amount, is there any way we can get a written break down of why we received what we did ?It was also made a point that I was not to get in touch with a 3rd party, so am I in the wrong for sending this email / letter to you? we have NOT cashed the check, in doing so can we get into trouble?Thank you again,Irene & Manuel Maldonadoreview # 199****

Original review posted by user Jun 18, 2020
We were sent a letter of Litigation Against K.Hovnanian. Informing us that we had to sign the paper attachment, send it back that we would be paid the Liquidated Damages in the sum of $3,780.00. this was sent to us September 16,2019 , I've called a number of calls asking and have been given several reasons/ excuses. My latest call was yesterday (2) leaving our number and reason for the call, well, so far NO call backs !! Just want to know why ?? we've done everything that was asked of us. I have the letters they have sent us, PEASE SENT A RESPOND...
View full review
ID
#1996754 Review #1996754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Stay far, far away.

Very rude, condescending Sales Mgr.
View full review
ID
#1809459 Review #1809459 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article